GeoData @ UCB

City Boundaries: Santa Cruz County, California, 2015

This polygon shapefile depicts the administrative boundaries for cities over which the County of Santa Cruz, California holds authority: Capitola, Santa Cruz, Scotts Valley and Watsonville. These include properties owned by cities but outside of contiguous city boundaries while still under city jurisdiction. This coverage does not include unincorporated areas. This coverage displays Includes properties outside of city boundaries, but under city jurisdiction. These boundaries have been approved by the Local Agency Formation Commission (LAFCO) of Solano County. LAFCO was created in 1963 to encourage orderly formation of local government agencies, preserve agricultural land resources and discourage urban sprawl. LAFCos are responsible for coordinating logical and timely changes in local governmental boundaries, conducting special studies that review ways to reorganize, simplify, and streamline governmental structure and preparing a sphere of influence for each city and special district within each county. This layer is part of a collection of GIS data created for Santa Cruz County, California.The Geographic Information Systems (GIS) Unit falls under the purview of the County of Santa Cruz Information Services Department. The GIS Unit serves all County departments and external customers and provides data on land, features and people of Santa Cruz County. Santa Cruz County encompasses 4 cities and approximately 265,000 people. This coverage can be used for basic applications such as viewing, querying and map output production, or to provide a basemap to support graphical overlays and analyses of geospatial data.
County of Santa Cruz Information Services Department
Santa Cruz County (Calif.), Capitola (Calif.), Santa Cruz (Calif.), Scotts Valley (Calif.), and Watsonville (Calif.)
Administrative and political divisions, Cities and towns, and Boundaries
Held by:
More details at
Attribute Value
Click on map to inspect values